My retainer has split…

Very oddly, due to a rogue flapjack, I’ve now had the retainer that I’ve had cemented to my teeth for the last twenty years (!) removed.

I’m not sure which is weirder, the fact that it’s gone, or the fact that I actually had it for twenty years… (34 – 14 is 20, isn’t it??) But I do recall the ‘I’ve got bacon grease coating my teeth’ feeling from when I had my braces removed all those many moons ago… It’s odd to have something that I’ve had longer than I’ve known my husband removed. Longer than the reign of Prime Minister Blair. Geez, Ronald Reagan was president when it was put in! Thatcher was Prime Minister! Kylie Minogue released her first single the same year! (Thanks Wikipedia! 🙂 )

Definitely the end of an era…

About Beth

Canadian English teacher living in the UK with husband, daughter, imminent baby and cat...
This entry was posted in Stuff. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to My retainer has split…

  1. I’ve still got some semi-permanent hardware from that era (or a shade earlier!) installed as well … can’t imagine what it would be like to suddenly lose it.

Leave a Reply

