I miss…

Getting a bit homesick, probably because fall is my favourite time of year at home in Canada. So, I miss…

  • Wunderbars. Been on a peanut butter kick lately, and they’re odd, but good…
  • my mom and dad’s sunroom, which is weird since they built it after I moved here, but there you are.
  • Thankgiving! It’s depressing that I completely missed it this year, despite being reminded by mom. Got to Wednesday, and realised that I had wanted to cook something appropriate on the Monday night… (That’s Canadian Thanksgiving, people, which is about giving thanks, as opposed to the American Thankgiving, which is about shopping…. 😦 )
  • School. Not teaching, but the going to school and meeting your new teachers, and having new stationery in your bag and all that. So sue me; I’m just sad…
  • Meg. She’s fat and she’s a bitch, but hey, she’s my cat. As opposed to Sophie, who’s our cat…
  • The ranch. Harvest is always the time of year that makes or breaks you, and I miss all the tension, and the amazing food that’s cooked for the guys who come to help out, and Mom’s apple pie. And Marg, who is a force of nature.
  • My truck. And hey, Dad sold it 5 years ago…
  • Is it actually possible to miss high school? 15 years after the fact??
  • People who get peanut butter and jelly sandwiches
  • proper Cheerios – not the multigrain crap…
  • deer in the front yard
  • snow
  • space – I grew up on the prairies, you know…
  • just being a kid

Hmmm… roll on growing up, I guess…

About Beth

Canadian English teacher living in the UK with husband, daughter, imminent baby and cat...
This entry was posted in Holidays, Stuff. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

