Read much?

So, I’m kind of freaking myself out a bit, as I just finished a novel that my brother-in-law gave me for my birthday, which he delivered last night. And I started it at 6.30 this morning. Actually, I finished it about half an hour ago, which means it took me about 4 hours to read the entirety of the novel, including the spoiler for the next book in the series at the end – about 370 pages. Not I’m not saying it’s a difficult book – it was ‘Deep Wizardry‘ by Diane Duane, and it aimed at young adults – but it’s not exactly short or simplistic. So do I read too fast? What does that mean exactly? Have I read it in enough detail to write a paper on it with references? No. Have I got all the in-depth references to her other works and any others she’s referred to? No, but then it’s been a while since I’ve read ‘So You Want to Be A Wizard?‘, and I’ve not read any of her other stuff. (Yet! 🙂 ) Have I understood the story, seen the development of the characters, cried over the moving bits and laughed when it’s been funny? You bet. (A little sister who wears Yoda PJs? Who wouldn’t laugh – in rueful understanding, if nothing else!!) This is something I’ve been thinking about lately, because it does seem to me that I do things like this rather quickly – I can do a reasonably long scarf from two balls of wool in Tunisian crochet in about 2 hours. I can do a piece of cross stitch about 6×6 inches in two or three days if I work on it all day. Other people have said to me that they’re a bit amazed at how fast I work, but when I do things like this, I don’t do anything else – talk to my husband about how often the dishes get done or the beds made when I’m reading or crafting! And especially when I read – I just fell into the book this morning, and was half-way through before I realised I’d been sitting there for a few hours… Of course, I had four hours free this morning because I woke up fully refreshed at 6 am on a Saturday, but I blame yoga – I’m knackered on Friday nights after my class! Anyway, maybe it’s a ‘gift’, and maybe I’m just wired that way – after all, Charles does Math as easily as I write haiku, and Richard will know  more about IT than I will ever be able to fathom… Maybe it’s just we’re all different…

About Beth

Canadian English teacher living in the UK with husband, daughter, imminent baby and cat...
This entry was posted in Stuff. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Read much?

  1. Beth says:

    BTW, pththththththththth….

Leave a Reply

