What’s in a name?

‘That which we call a rose / By any other name would smell as sweet…’ Romeo and Juliet

Hmmm… My name is Elizabeth, which various sources name as meaning ‘God’s promise’, ‘Consecrated to God’, or ‘my God is abundance’. Certainly Mom always said it meant ‘Consecrated to God’, which is lovely. Oooo – and according to Margot’s Magical Letter Page:

A ‘Beth‘ is an initiator who channels her energy toward a specific goal.

Great.

Richard means variants of ‘brave ruler’.

Charles is ‘manly’ or ‘free man’, and the third most common given name in Canada, according to Wikipedia

I like Michael: ‘who is like God’ and Ella: ‘torch’ or ‘bright light’.

If we’re going for a more ethnic feel, there’s Iestyn, the Welsh form of Justin, meaning ‘fairness’. Or, simply the Hebrew pronunciation of Elizabeth, Elisheba.

This all started because I have a student in one of my classes called Imani and I was curious as to what it meant… It’s ‘faith’ in Swahili.

About Beth

Canadian English teacher living in the UK with husband, daughter, imminent baby and cat...
This entry was posted in General, Wurdz. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to What’s in a name?

  1. Carla says:

    Because Carla isn’t a common name over here, I get asked a lot if I’m Italian. Nope. I say I’m part Russian and they can’t wrap their head around that either! Dare I even mention the Doukhobors?! LOL!!!

    Speaking of names, i’ve been on Facebook a lot lately and wondered if you were signed up at all. I’ve got in touch with a lot of people I went to school with and I’d totally friend you if you were on there. I know you’re a bit stressed at the mo but it’s an addictive diversion. Hope you’re survivng. Hang in there, babe!

    Oh yeah, I was wondering….can you come up with an Anagram of my name for me? I like yours and I tried to come up with one for myself but my brain has turned to mush from watching way too much CBeebies. If you can, I’d really appreciate it! 🙂

  2. Beth says:

    TBH, I just plugged my name into an anagram builder on the web and chose one that I liked… And no, I’m not on Facebook, although lots of people that I know are. I’m a bit ambivalent about tracking down people I went to school with at the moment – maybe that’ll change later. I figure I’ve already got a web presence, but maybe it’s not big enough!! 🙂

Leave a Reply

