Anything I Need to Know I can Learn from the Arrogant Worms…

It occurred to me on the way home from school today that anything I need to know, albeit with a Canadian slant, I can learn from the Arrogant Worms.

For those of you who aren’t in the know, The Arrogant Worms are a comedy/music group from Canada – more specifically, from Ontario. I’ve been wishing all week that ‘Canada Is Really Big’ actually WAS the national anthem, but I realised something else even more profound this afternoon.

I didn’t have to go to school. All I needed when I was a lass was the Arrogant Worms.

It all started with ‘Canada is Really Big‘ – I could have learned geography from this song.

And then I really started thinking. To get all the lyrics to ‘The Mountie Song‘ you need to know about law enforcement, current events, and it’s also about job satisfaction – all part of social studies and (as it was called in my day) CALM – Career And Life Management. ‘The Last Saskatchewan Pirate‘ is about economics, and ‘Carful of Pain’ is a good example of why diction and enunciation is important (but you’d have to listen to it to understand…)

That leaves… science (‘I am a Cow‘), religious studies (‘Jesus’ Brother Bob‘), English (hey – it’s poetry…) and ethics (‘Carrot Juice is Murder‘). I’m a bit stuck on math, and I think I’d have to turn to Three Dead Trolls in a Baggie for History (‘The White House Burned‘), but otherwise, I think I’m set!

Think my head of department would let me take the rest of the week off?? 🙂

     dirt.jpg         live-bait.jpg

About Beth

Canadian English teacher living in the UK with husband, daughter, imminent baby and cat...
This entry was posted in General. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

