Wake up call…

This morning the alarm clock went at 6 am as usual. As usual, the alarm clock started playing Radio 4, and as usual, I listened to the news in that early-morning fog that exists on this side of sleep.

What wasn’t usual was the lead news story – that the British Fertility Society has stated that very obese women should not be given IVF treatment. OK, not really news – people have been talking about this for quite a while. But this includes women who have a Body Mass Index of 36 or higher.

That’s me.

I’m very obese???

While the nurse at my local surgery has been trying to get me to lose weight for a couple of years now, never has my weight been described to me as ‘very obese’. I’ve been overweight my entire life. And while I’m not actally that happy with how I look, I’d never have described myself as obese. That’s for those people who can’t fit into their cars, or have to have special furniture made for themselves, or order 2 meals at the McDonald’s drive-through for themselves, every day. I have had a few McDonald’s meals this summer holiday, but mostly we eat 4-5 fruit and veg a day, and since barbeque season has arrived, we’ve been eating less fat because I’ve been BBQing most of our meals…

So, I’m still reeling a bit. Maybe this will be the cue to get me back on Weight Watchers regularly – I weighed myself this morning for the first time in weeks, and found that I’ve actually lost 5 pounds, due to I’m not sure what. Maybe stress over houses?? Hmmm…

Incidentally, the same authority stated that women who smoke should be given IVF. Surely that’s worse for the baby than being overweight?

About Beth

Canadian English teacher living in the UK with husband, daughter, imminent baby and cat...
This entry was posted in Weight Loss. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

