Lack of security…

Yesterday should have been a great day all round, and it would have been except for what I found when I got to school in the morning…

Two things you need to know first; first, that my school is rather secluded, as it's in the middle of a field with a major road running past it. And second, that I've been wanting an interactive whiteboard in my room since forever, and I'll settle for a data projector in the short term.

Last Friday, the short term arrived. After school, the nice electricians installed my data projector, which was ceiling mounted and had wall-mounted speakers and a lovely screen and all that.

Notice I said was ceiling mounted… When I got to work yesterday, it was hanging by its bent and twisted mount, and attached by the leads which amazingly hadn't been ripped out of the ceiling after the vandals who broke into the school tried to rip it off the mount in order to steal it. It looked like they had taken a flying leap and hung from it in order to get it off the ceiling. They weren't successful – but they were successful in ripping the mounting screws out of the housing, bending all the plugs and points and generally ruining the projector. So, after a great start to the morning (during which my hubby gave me an iPod for my birthday – whoohoo!) I came in to general devastation of my lessons for the day – which, of course, I had spent the weekend planning and doing the resources for. Luckily, I only had three lessons and I was able to come up with alternatives fairly quickly, but ther were a few tearful moments as I literally picked up the pieces…

But, thanks to a wonderful husband and friends, I did have a great birthday – thanks especially to Jane who made me cake! And as it was the hottest day of the year so far, we had a lovely dinner at an air-conditioned restaurant, and I fell asleep early. What more could you want of a birthday?? Thanks, everyone!

About Beth

Canadian English teacher living in the UK with husband, daughter, imminent baby and cat...
This entry was posted in Stuff. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Lack of security…

  1. Sorry to hear about your classroom ๐Ÿ˜ฆ

    I’m guessing its covered under insurance, and that eventually you’ll get your white board back, no? Still – further delays, and the initial disappointment….

    On the plus side, you’ll love the iPod ๐Ÿ˜‰ Since I’m sure that you would never violate copyright law by downloading music, or making illegal electronic copies of CDs you already own, have a look a LibriVox.org – I think that might appeal to you (and you have to put something on the iPod – you can’t just use it as a fashion accessory – although many people do :p),

    Glad you had a good birthday ๐Ÿ™‚

  2. Beth says:

    Yeah, I’m sure I will get the projector replaced – thank goodness the whiteboard hasn’t been installed yet – but I’m being pessimistic and thinking September, hoping that I’ll be pleasantly surprised…

    Thanks on the birthday front!!

Leave a Reply

