Gotcha… Don’t you love nonsense??

The slithergidee crawled out of the sea.
It may get all the others, but it won’t get me!

The slithergidee crawled out of the sea.
It may get all the others, but it won’t get me!

The slithergidee crawled out of the sea.
It may get all the others, but it won’t get me!

No, it wo–

Can anyone tell me who wrote this?? Bits of my childhood…

Also reminds me of…

About Beth

Canadian English teacher living in the UK with husband, daughter, imminent baby and cat...
This entry was posted in Poetry. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Gotcha… Don’t you love nonsense??

  1. Lucy says:

    I don’t think it’s Shel Silverstein, but it certainly sounds like it could be. Which reminds me of something from my childhood:

    I thought that I had wavy hair
    Until I shaved. Instead,
    I find that I have straight hair
    And a very wavy head

    ~S. Silverstein

  2. Mom says:

    I Googled “Slithergadee” and found it- it is in fact by Shel Silverstien.

Leave a Reply

