Perennials

heady peony scent
the bee buzzes in sweet sap –
waiting for the bus

I smile out of the
photo as the prized dahlia
purples my fingers

Mother struggles with
harsh prairie wind to nurture
roses iris gentility

birthday roses glimpsed
through memory – the bush grows lush
in my thoughts

veronica invades
the kitchen garden – sits with
sweet honeysuckle

sweet Cuthbert Grant grips
the soil and clings to life –
small blooms wrung from thorns

my mother’s thorns
also struggle in my
English garden

About Beth

Canadian English teacher living in the UK with husband, daughter, imminent baby and cat...
This entry was posted in Haiku. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Perennials

  1. Robin Krause says:

    I just reasd this- it made me cry. Thank-you. Mom

Leave a Reply

